33. Resolved, to do always, what I can towards making, maintaining, and preserving peace, when it can be done without overbalancing detriment in other respects. Dec. 26, 1722.

34. Resolved, in narrations never to speak anything but the pure and simple verity. [Verity: Truth]

35. Resolved, whenever I so much question whether I have done my duty, as that my quiet and calm is thereby disturbed, to set it down, and also how the question was resolved. Dec. 18, 1722. [I was a little perplexed at this.  I believe he is saying that if he comes to a point of conviction that he may not have done the right thing, he resolves to pray and examine himself and make a note of it for future reference.  That’s my guess.]

36. Resolved, never to speak evil of any, except I have some particular good call for it. Dec. 19, 1722.

37. Resolved, to inquire every night, as I am going to bed, wherein I have been negligent,- what sin I have committed,-and wherein I have denied myself;-also at the end of every week, month and year. Dec. 22 and 26, 1722.

38. Resolved, never to speak anything that is ridiculous, sportive, or matter of laughter on the Lord’ s day. Sabbath evening, Dec. 23, 1722. [I find myself in agreement with most everything he says…except this one.  It smacks of legalism.  Laughter is a gift from God, and it is meet & right to have a happy heart, especially on the Lord’s Day.  Just my opinion…]

39. Resolved, never to do anything of which I so much question the lawfulness of, as that I intend, at the same time, to consider and examine afterwards, whether it be lawful or not; unless I as much question the lawfulness of the omission.

40. Resolved, to inquire every night, before I go to bed, whether I have acted in the best way I possibly could, with respect to eating and drinking. Jan. 7, 1723. [For those that have liberty in what they eat & drink, this is especially apropos.  We should endeavor to never give weaker brothers & sisters cause to stumble.]

