50. Resolved, I will act today in such a manner that, when I look back from heaven, I will be able to honestly say that I did things the best and most prudent way possible. July 5, 1723. [Eternal Perspective!!]

51. Resolved, that I will act so, in every respect, as I think I shall wish I had done, if I were to find myself condemned to hell for eternity. July 8, 1723.

52. I frequently hear persons in old age, say how they would live, if they were to live their lives over again: Resolved, that I will live in that right way so that I will have no such regrets, if it pleases God let me live to old age. July 8, 1723. [I may just post this one on my bathroom mirror.]

53. Resolved, to improve every opportunity, when I am in the best and happiest frame of mind, to cast and venture my soul on the Lord Jesus Christ, to trust and confide in him, and consecrate myself wholly to him; that from this I may have assurance of my safety, knowing that I confide in my Redeemer. July 8, 1723.

54. Whenever I hear anything spoken in conversation of any person, if I think it would be praiseworthy in me, Resolved to endeavor to imitate it. July 8, 1723.

55. Resolved, to try with all my power to do as I would do if I had seen the happiness of heaven, and the torment of hell. July 8, 1723.

56. Resolved, never to give over, nor in the least to slacken, my fight with my corruptions, however unsuccessful I may be. [As surely as we know we will be tempted to sin, it is as sure that Satan will try to leverage his victories with a temptation to give up.  Never give in!]

