57. Resolved, when I fear misfortunes and adversities, to examine whether I have done my duty, and resolve to do it, and let the event be just as providence orders it. I will as far as I can, be concerned about nothing but my duty, and my sin. June 9, and July 13 1723.

58. Resolved, not only to refrain from an air of dislike, fretfulness, and anger in conversation, but to exhibit an air of love, cheerfulness and gentleness. May 27, and July 13, 1723.

59. Resolved, when I am most conscious of provocations to ill nature and anger, that I will strive most to feel and act good-naturedly; yea, at such times, to manifest good nature, even though I think that in other respects it would be disadvantageous, and so as would be imprudent at other times. May 12, July 11, and July 13.

60. Resolved, whenever my feelings begin to appear in the least out of order, when I am conscious of the least uneasiness within, or the least irregularity without, I will then subject myself to the strictest examination. July 4, and 13, 1723.

61. Resolved, that I will not give in to that laziness which I find relaxes my mind from being fully and fixedly set on my relationship with the Lord, whatever excuse I may have for it-that what my listlessness inclines me to do, is best to be done, etc. May 21, and July 13, 1723.

62. Resolved, never to do anything but duty, and then according to Ephesians 6:6-8, to do it willingly and cheerfully as unto the Lord, and not to man, knowing that whatever good thing any man doth, the same shall he receive of the Lord.  June 25 and July 13, 1723.

63. Suppose that there could be only one fully complete Christian in the world at a time, one who does all the right things, “shines” like a Christian should, and always appears excellent and lovely at all times and in all places and from every perspective:  Resolved, to act just as I would do, to strive with all my might to be that one Christian that should live in my time. January 14 and July 13, 1723. [So it’s draft day, and only one person gets drafted.  And draft day happens only once every 70-80 years.  How hard would you work to be the one that is chosen?  Edwards is saying he would work that hard, knowing that he has already done enough.]

64. Resolved, when I find those “groans that words cannot express” (Romans 8:26), of which the Apostle speaks, and those times when “My soul is consumed with longing for your law” of which the Psalmist speaks (Psalm 119:20), that I will promote them to the utmost of my power, and that I will not be weary of earnestly endeavoring to vent my desires, nor of the repetitions of such earnestness. July 23, and August 10, 1723.

