I’m out of town on business and have little time to post anything today.  Still, I want to be consistent in posting, so I thought you might appreciate some mental gum to chew on.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.  – Phil 4:8

  • A simple way to “test the spirits”.  If a particular teacher or philosophy tends to elevate self and/or lessen God, then it is a false religion.
  • My belief in Jesus isn’t what saved me, though it is part of the process.  Jesus’ death on the cross for my sins is what saved me.
  • God uses language tools and is not always literal.  When he asks Moses, “Is the LORD’s arm too short” (Num 11.23), He wasn’t asking Moses to get a ruler & measure.

And just so I won’t forget where it is, here’s a compendium of links on church discipline.

[I got all of these thoughts while perusing comments made by folks on Andrew Piper’s web site Twenty Two Words.  Interesting place.]

