Today’s sermon at Christ Church, EPC was delivered by Dr. David McCann. He shared from the Song of Solomon and focused on three statements made by the bride:

1. My beloved is mine, and I am his. 2:16
2. I am my beloved’s and he is mine. 6:3
3. I am my beloved’s and his desire is for me. 7:10

I have not studied the literal structure of the Song of Solomon, but David presented it from the interpretational perspective of it being a parable in which the groom represents Christ and the bride represents his church.

Look at the selected statements made by the bride. They represent a maturing progression of her understanding of her relationship with the groom. We, as individual believers, go through this progression as well. At first, we try to be in control of the relationship. Once we come to the realization that we cannot be in control, we put Christ in control as represented by the brides second statement. However, we still retain some control. Once we realize that there is nothing good in us apart from what Christ has put there, we can finally make the final statement… “I am my beloveds and his desire if for me.” We no longer retain any control, because we acknowledge that we have none. We seek only to do the will of Christ because he is truly our beloved.

The tragedy is that most of us never get past the second statement. We refuse to give up all of the control – we don’t truly trust Christ, our protector and redeemer, to act in our best interest. Why? Giving complete control to Jesus does not have to be a frightening prospect.

It is only when we make the third statement in our hearts that Jesus brings us fully into the work of the Kingdom. Look at the groom’s words immediately following the bride’s third statement:

“Come, my beloved, let us go out into the fields and lodge in the villages; let us go out early to the vineyards and see whether the vines have budded, whether the grape blossoms have opened and the pomegranates are in bloom. There I will give you my love.”

We are ready to work with the groom to bring in the harvest – to build the Kingdom of God. It is when we participate in this work with Jesus that we come to an even deeper understanding of his love for us.

